April Mini Game Jam

An other game jam is over and great fun was had! After I couldn’t attend the jam in February and didn’t get anything done during the March one (read a lot of the Doom3 source code though) I was pumped to actually make a game this time.The themes were:

  • Dark Science
  • Making a game character interesting instead of focusing on the game itself

  • Retrœalism

Naturally, I went with dark science. First I thought about something related to alchemy, but I couldn’t come up with a doable concept. So I went over to actual science, namely physics and after fiddling around with Unity for a while, I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted to do. In Ride the LHC you are a particle which gets continuously accelerated. You  have to collide with other particles to fuse into new elements and gain weight. But beware, if you fuse into an unstable isotope you’ll decay, loosing mass and speeding up. The goal is to gain as much kinetic energy as possible until you reach 0.9c.

I wanted to make it feel as scientific accurate as possible. While I know that this is not how particle accelerators work, the calculations I do should be pretty correct. All in all, I had a good time and other people seemed to like my concept, which is always great.

You can play the game here.

Leave a Reply

